Radio XXI, side A, track 9: “Never Tear Us Apart” by INXS, #59 on The Top 88 of ’88

Mixed Tape Masterpiece

Radio XXI Never Tear Us Apart - INXSOh, INXS, as I’ve intimated previously, even though I’m a heterosexual man-boy, I don’t know that my heterosexualness would be able to withstand the power of this song were it to be directed my way.  Luckily, since there’s no chance you’d ever sing this song directly to me, INXS, my masculinity and/or sexuality remains firmly intact (such as it is).  But let’s talk about this song for a second.  Yes, it’s an amazing song, and yes, it deserves to be on this year-end countdown and probably deserves to be higher.  But this is one of those songs that epitomizes why I was always annoyed by the artsy guys in college.  Because the artsy guys could easily score the artsy girls, and unfortunately for me, I also liked artsy girls, and doubly unfortunately for me, I didn’t have any artsy skills, unless you count writing the occasional derivative comic-book…

View original post 379 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

